Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So my Hubs was all about these Milano ® cookies. The ones with the broken pretzel pieces. Yeah, they’re good but all I could think while scarfing them down was how easy they’d be to make. Or at least to make something similar. I could have copied it more directly by making tiny thin cookies blah, blah, blah… but I decided to do em up the way I thought they ought to be. Fat.

milano main photo

For those of you who are timid in the kitchen, never fear these babies are some of the easiest things you’ll ever make. Here’s how I did it. Step by step.

Cream 1 c butter and 1/2 c sugar.

milano 002 milano 001 milano 003

Gradually add 2 c flour till you get a workable dough.

milano 004 milano 005

Divide dough in half and roll each half into a ball.

milano 006

Flatten dough into a pie plate and press out to edges.

milano 007

I use a spatula to shape the edges to make more of a uniform thickness throughout the disc… to prevent overly crispy edges.

milano 008 milano 009

Bake 300 degrees 30-40 minutes

Now you don’t have to score these but I find it’s easier to cut them later if I do.

milano 010

While those are cooling, melt about a cup or so of chocolate chips and about 1/3 stick of butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds.

milano 011

I wanted a smoother texture so I added a large spoonful of shortening and nuked again (30 sec intervals, stirring in between) until smooth.

milano 012

Pour the chocolate over both crusts and spread evenly over the tops.

milano 013 milano 014

Sprinkle crushed pretzel pieces over the tops. – Note: It helps to crush your pretzels ahead of time. I actually didn’t think that far and realized it as I was pouring the first chocolate top… it was a mad rush to break up the pieces before my chocolate cooled too much for them to stick.

milano 015 milano 016

I had fun making these. They turned out great and the experience gave me a ton of ideas for new recipes. Also, I’ve discovered something about myself. I really like taking pictures of food. I mean really. I took over 50 pics of this process and the finished product. It actually took me longer to go through and decide which ones to use than it did to make the whole dish.

Try this out. Let me know what you think.

